Spring Has Sprung!

4 Apr

Well, the “snowman” materials have finally been put away. This week I’ve been about all-things-Spring! Will share a few simple things I’ve made so far along with some of my favorite materials from around the web.

You can click on the pictures below to download a pronoun/expanding utterance worksheet I made up along with the visuals to go in the blank spaces (He wants four bunnies! They want six Easter eggs). Also thought I’d share a Boardmaker activity I made last year (sorry, for this one you’d need the program as it’s interactive)—lets the kids make their own silly spring/garden story up on the SMARTboard (or on the computer).

Last night I downloaded a bunch of the Easter/Spring apps that Jenna recommended over on Speech Room News. I let some of my artic kids take a shot at “whack-an-egg” after practicing their target words (it was a hit!). I used this “bunnies everywhere” book from Chapel Hill Snippets earlier this week and will probably use it again tomorrow with one of my kids working on basic concepts/expanding utterances. I think I’ll have to use this “Very Hungry Bunny” book from Playing With Words 365, too!

I think I borrowed it from the school’s library for most of last year (oops), but finally put in an order for my favorite spring book: Muncha, Muncha, Muncha by Candace Fleming. Will have to do a post on it soon, but for now I’ll just highly recommend it (for fruits/veggies, making predictions, sequencing events, etc)! What are your favorite “spring” children’s books?

3 Responses to “Spring Has Sprung!”

  1. A fellow SLP April 6, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    Great materials, thanks! Can you share your “Muncha” materials as well? It’s such an awesome book! 🙂

    • Elena Marie April 8, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

      No problem! I will have to this week or next week! Will wait for my copy to arrive to see if I whip up anything new this year 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bunny Books. « Elena Marie, SLP - April 10, 2012

    […] items, irregular past tense verbs. The other is for targeting spatial concepts. I loved using the bunny books mentioned last week, but for my students it was also helpful to have a variety of spatial concepts (e.g. in front, […]

Leave a Reply

