Lunch by Denise Fleming

19 Mar

This week in our motor/speech/language group we’re reading Lunch by Denise Fleming—-one of my favorites! It’s a wonderful book for targeting fruits & vegetables and for making predictions & inferences, and carries over content from last week’s book, in which Bear ate a whole lot of food. My school placement supervisor, Mary, busted Lunch out for a preK large-group lesson back in 2010 and I’ve loved finding ways to utilize it ever since! Nerdy info: my mom ordered me a used copy off Amazon last year for Christmas and it just happened to be signed by the author! Win. 😉

Very possible I’ll share more materials as the week goes on, but for now here are some downloads/ideas for how we’ve used the story:

-Boardmaker visuals to go along with the story: Part I, Part II

Printable book I made to go along with the story (target colors/fruits/veggies/expanding utterances! Have student fill in circle w/appropriate color)

SMARTBoard activity using food from the story; matching colors + items

“Why Question” visuals for Lunch

Play-based: had the kids feed an alligator puppet plastic fruits/veggies of their choosing after saying a sentence (target: “Eat the…yellow banana”, though was pleasantly surprised with some of our kids busting out utterances along the lines of “Mr. Alligator, would you like one yellow banana? And then another banana?”). Have also used this with categorizing fruits/veggies—e.g. have the puppet ONLY want to eat veggies.

Awesome sandwich-sequencing game from Melissa & Doug. Have students label all the possible sandwich ingredients and then take turns building a sandwich from the card, providing assistance as needed.

-More fruits/veggies: Boardmaker visuals (recommend printing/laminating/velcroing so kids can sort onto veggie or fruit board), SMARTBoard activity to categorize (made by Jordan)

4 Responses to “Lunch by Denise Fleming”

  1. Margo March 19, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    Great activity! I would like to incorporate some SMARTBoard activities, but I can’t seem to open your links. Could you tell me how I can view them?

    • Margo March 19, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

      Never mind! I switched computers and it worked. Great job!

      • ElenaMarieSLP March 19, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

        Great! Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More “Lunch”. « Elena Marie, SLP - March 21, 2012

    […] and here are a few more things to share! Just thought I’d post a few photos of some of the previously shared materials in action (I decided to laminate/velcro the printable book I had made to go […]

Leave a Reply

