1, 2, 3 to the Zoo

18 Mar

Just thought I’d share a book I made last year to target /z/ initial: “1,2,3 to the Zoo”, to go along with the Eric Carle picture book. Could also be used to target matching, labeling zoo animals, plurals, counting, making predictions, etc. I just had students paste the appropriate animal on each page and, depending on their level of practice, typically help me complete the phrase “1 elephant at the ________” to elicit initial /z/.

More /z/: here’s a basic page I made with the phrase “The zookeeper helps…”. I typically print out several copies of this page and let the kids pick whichever animals they would like to finish it (visuals here). Already shared this one, but here’s the /z/ initial story I made up as well.

Over at Autumn’s powerpoint site she has a great “Zoo” one that lets the kids guess which animal is next (great sound effects & visuals). Another nice way to elicit /z/! Was set up for targeting making inferences, so could also be great for that! In play I like to use zoo/farm animals and have the kids categorize them and tell me where the animals live. For word lists/practice in the medial and final positions, check out Mommy Speech Therapy.

Leave a Reply

