Articulation: /k/

28 Feb

With pre-K students, /k/ and /g/ are pretty frequent targets (“fronting”, or producing /t/ and /d/ in place of these sounds, is a fairly common error pattern). For some students, it “clicks” after seeing how to produce the /k/, auditory bombardment, hearing their own correct vs. incorrect productions, etc. For others, I’ve used a tongue depressor to move their tongue posteriorly, had them felt my throat/their throat, even laid down on the floor to let gravity take over so they can get used to what correct placement feels like. Since I see a lot of students whose parents bring them 1-2x per week for 30 minutes, I like to have worksheets to both use during sessions and to send home for carryover. Even my little three-year-olds will usually get some good practice in with a Bingo game/sentence strip activity/etc (haver finger puppets say the words for them? even better!). As you’ll keep seeing, I also like to use books as much as possible. I feel it makes the target sounds more meaningful—and often allows them to practice one word over and over without it feeling like drill (Reading “Where’s My Cat?” by Eric Carle? Point to them every time the word “cat” comes up. Heck, retell stories with stunning pictures to get the targets you need!).

So, below are some of the books I’ve loved to use to target /k/, and a bunch of the worksheets I’ve made. Most are pretty darn basic, but I know that, when I’m looking for treatment ideas, sometimes it’s just nice to have a few new activities to print out/utilize! Definitely will recommend my standbys for artic worksheets: Mommy Speech Therapy and the Materials Exchange at Speaking of Speech. And, while it deserves its own post, I wholeheartedly recommend Articulation Station for your iPad. Purchase sound by sound if you want, practice at the word/sentence/story level, take easy data, record in-session…I love it!

Books: Initial: Have You Seen My Cat? by Eric Carle, If You Give a Cat a Cupcake by Laura Numeroff, The Mixed-Up Chameleon by Eric Carle, Does A Kangaroo Have a Mother, Too? by Eric Carle, Medial: It’s Pumpkin Time by Zoe Hall, A Pocket for Corduroy by Don Freeman, If You Give a Mouse a Cookie by Laura Numeroff, 10 Fat Turkeys by Tony Johnston; Final: One Duck Stuck by Phyllis Root, Duck on a Bike by David Shannon (haven’t read, but want to!), Shark in the Park by Phil Roxbee Cox

Downloads:

Intial/Final /k/ “trees” (targeting consonant + vowel; vowel + consonant)

/k/ Initial Bingo (CV, CVC)

/k/ Initial Powerpoint (visuals + some sounds)

Initial /k/ “I Spy” (circle/say the target words in sentences)

Initial /k/ sentences (CV, CVC)

Initial /k/ and /g/ sentences (targeting correct voicing)

“Have You Seen My Cat?” by Eric Carle (various “cat” Boardmaker visuals)

“Mixed Up Chameleon” by Eric Carle (initial /k/ in multisyllabic words; sentences)

Medial /k/ in sentences

Medial /k/ “I spy”

Final /k/ activities (print, staple. word, sentence, story level)

2 Responses to “Articulation: /k/”

  1. Michelle February 28, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    Wow! These are great ideas! I am really impressed with what you have put up here! I am a CF working in a school for Deaf and hard of hearing kids and I just wanted to let you know that I appreciate your work! Thanks!

    • ElenaMarieSLP February 28, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

      Aww you’re very welcome, Michelle! So glad it’s helpful 🙂 Best of luck with your CFY!

Leave a Reply

